The Beach: Thailand’s piece of heaven

I’ve already shared a part of my experience in Thailand in the post titled Bangkok – the city of angelsI’ve made a decision to completely separate the tale of Bangkok from the one about Phuket and Phi Phi islands, because I wanted to give both the attention they deserve.

Thanks to Jungle Tribe, as a crown to our Thailand, Vietnam and Cambodia trip was spending several days in Patong, a town on the west coast of Thailand’s biggest island – Phuket.

Since, unlike Bangkok, which is a cultural center, Phuket is more of a leisure kind of place, instead of listing its historic trivia, I’m going to pass to what I think you should see, straight away.

1. Go to the beach

The beach on Phuket is what you’ve always imagined and so much more. The sand, the palm trees, the Sun. I’d rather show you than talk about it, because, as they say – a picture can say what a thousand words can’t.

 

This beach brings out the creativity when it comes to taking photos as well:

 

 

And you are likely to see something you’ve never seen before – a halo:

 

 

Just witnessing the beauty of the beach is simply breathtaking.

 

 

2. Eat fruit, especially bananas

If you are curious as to why I’m fascinated with acquiring bananas, click here for episode III. of the infamous Diary of a fag hag and find out. All I have to say in my defense – Thailand has a tendency of making you change your way due to its relaxing environment that simply makes you let your brain have a break.

In any case, you can find bananas anywhere and they’re healthy (especially if you enjoy the charms of night life as much as I do).

 

3. Try all sorts of food 

Apart from choking on Pad Thai with Dijana which lasted throughout our stay in Southeast Asia, it would have been a shame not to taste their specialties such as:

…the lobster:

IMG_5908

 

…or shrimp:

 

IMG_6041

 

4. Have a night on the town

Thailand is definitely a night life Mecca. Especially Phuket, which is considered to be its Ibiza. So, put on your dancing shoes and dance like nobody’s watching. Chances are nobody is.

 

You can also play a game of trying to guess who the ladyboy is. Take my word for it, you couldn’t tell even from a very short distance.

 

 

5. Visit Phi Phi islands

Phi Phi islands are widely known as the set to Leonardo DiCaprio’s hit The Beach filmed in 2000. They are most definitely one of the most beautiful wonders of nature I’ve ever seen in my entire life.

 

 

 

 

6. Meet new people

The best part of traveling is getting to know people you’d never run into during your every day routine. You learn new things about yourself every time you learn something new about somebody else.

 

7. Have a smoothie

A variety of choices when it comes to flavors is simply astonishing. I found myself having banana flavor and cashew flavor in any occasion available.

IMG_5941

8. Drink! Anytime and anywhere!

You’re on holiday, so take advantage of it. Whether it’s the irreplaceable Chang beer or something else, lay back, relax, sip your drink and enjoy the Sun.

 

 

9. Get a henna tattoo

It’s painless and cheap. Of course, it requires patience, but I’m guessing you lot have it more than I do.

If you are not as clumsy as I am the outcome result can be amazing. But I can’t say mine was bad anyway, even though there was henna on everything I had touched that day. Must have been because I had practiced the advice under number 8 all too well.

IMG_5760

… and last but not least:

10. Have a beer before you leave whilst singing Hotel California


12 thoughts on “The Beach: Thailand’s piece of heaven

Leave a comment